Butsuriteki ni Koritsu shiteiru Ore no Koukou Seikatsu Volume 1 Epilogue

Join the discord server! https://discord.gg/e4BJxX6 

Epilogue

When I woke up, I was greeted by a ceiling with a lot of stains.

“A bed…? Then this must be the infirmary…?”

To my left was a wall and windows. And to my right, I saw—Takawashi and Aika. The moment our eyes met, they immediately became wide awake and stared at me.

“I guess we got to meet again in this life, huh? Or am I in heaven right now?”

“Narihira-kun! Thank you so much!” Aika dove straight onto the bed like she was pulling a wrestling move on me.

Her soft sensations all over…stimulated all my five senses.

“Be careful! Get away! You’re gonna pass out if you keep this up!”

“So what?! You’re Aika’s friend! Some Drain is nothing to be scared of!”

Just hearing that alone was enough to supply three whole meals. I see, so a drain is no problem if we’re friends—is what I thought, but Takawashi didn’t hesitate to drag Aika away from me and pulled her beyond my 1-meter radius.

“Stop it! It’ll be dangerous if you stay too close to him!”

I wasn’t sure if I should be thankful to Takawashi or not. Life can never be easy, huh?

“Sorry…Aika just wanted to thank you no matter what, so…”

“And if you jump at boys like that, it’ll only make the rumors worse. Try to be a bit more mindful.”

Although Takawashi was speaking the truth, her tone didn’t sound nearly as harsh as it normally did. It felt like she tried to be more understanding and open. At the same time, she glanced over at me, all the while not looking into my eyes.

“It took a lot out of us to carry you here, you know? Put you on a mattress, having people switch while carrying you, until we eventually put you on that bed,” said Takawashi with a sigh, telling me what brought me here.

Shortly after I passed out, it appeared as if the students in the hall returned to normal. Aika being away from them helped greatly. Takawashi’s plan worked. She and Aika wondered if they should escape outside the school grounds, but they heard Elias over the school broadcast that things had resolved and asked to help get me to the infirmary. Luckily, nobody had to be sent to the hospital because of my Drain ability. I was actually really worried about that, so that’s a relief.

“We originally wanted to get all the collapsed students to the infirmary, but since you were resting in here, we couldn’t. This is probably the most dangerous hospital in the whole country right now.”

I really think you could have been a little more kind with that…

“Oh yeah, are you going to join the student council now, Aika? I feel like Elias said something about that.”

Looking over, Aika awkwardly scratched her head with her right hand.

“Well…She did contact Aika via LINE after what happened…Saying that we should just forget that was ever an option. She’s going to do a public apology eventually.”

“That authoritarian rat…Or I guess you could call her Slave Driver is going to apologize for not fully understanding how Ayameike-san’s ability works.”

Authoritarian rat…Yeah, I guess that is rather accurate.

“Aika wanted to apologize, too, but the vice president said she’s going to take all the blame…Now Aika just feels bad…”

“Yeah, Elias can be pretty diligent when the situation demands it. She probably is aware that this all happened because of her idea. She absolutely feels bad for what she’s done.”

She might have her ticks, but she’s still talented enough to become the vice president in her first year at this school.

“You seem oddly knowledgeable about that Slave Driver,” Takawashi said with her typical ‘Ice Princess’ expression.

Come on, we just have known each other for a long time.

“The plan about turning Aika into some idol is going to fall flat, too. So, we might probably be able to spend more time together again.”

“That…makes me really happy, thanks.”

I lost the battle but won the war and am now allowed to spend more time with my friend. I don’t mind carrying my injuries as medals.

“We can go to the café together, talking about whatever comes to mind, no more poison or medicine, and only laugh about people in the presence of said people…”

“That whole idea yet again sounds like you’re talking down on yourself, but Aika totally gets it! Sounds fun to her!”

She saluted using her right hand. I don’t know if that’s right or wrong, but as long as just the two of us get it, then that should be fine. And with that done, Aika’s expression suddenly changed. She seemed a bit bashful. I thought she was the type who had issues saying what she thought.

“Um…While we’re at it…Aika might as well say it out loud, but…”

Wait, why is she blushing like that?! Is she jumping straight to a confession after we cleared the first stage of being friends?! Am I finally going to experience my own kind of youth after living in the cold Siberian winter all this time? Even if the whole world may laugh at her and call her a succubus, I will continue to see her as an angel.

“E-Erin…Won’t you please be friends with me again?!” She said and pushed her hand toward Takawashi.

Man, why couldn’t I have been blessed with the ability to erase my memories? That was horrible…At the same time, Aika continued her confession toward Takawashi.

“Seeing you today…it made Aika realize that she had the wrong idea about you. Please, can we be friends again?!”

Takawashi didn’t respond and just looked away. I thought that they might drift apart again. That Aika had been too forceful. However, Takawashi’s hand had properly taken Aika’s.

“Well, let’s take it slow, yeah?”

Even if she didn’t look at Aika, her tone was kind and welcoming.

“Yay! That makes Aika really happy!” She said and waved Takawashi’s hand up and down.

I guess it really is true that people grow stronger the more they struggle, the stronger they become. That seems to work for friendships, too.

“It’s almost summer break, so let’s hang out together somewhere!”

“But we have our end-of-term exams before that.”

Man, she really knows how to drag us back down to reality.

“Also, there is one thing we have to clarify before we forget.”

Something bumped into my head. It was stronger than your average eraser, packing enough punch to make me think it was a small pebble. On my blanket, I could see a single piece of milk chocolate.

“Gure-kun and I aren’t friends. We’re still just part of the same alliance.”

“Yeah, you said that earlier.”

I unwrapped the chocolate and put it in my mouth. It was the sweetest milk chocolate I had ever tasted.

“Then your summer homework is to become friends with each other!” Aika said with her unlimited positive thinking, which did make Takawashi flinch a bit.

“That’s right. If we don’t see each other for three days, he might be able to turn his ability on and off after those days, and then he might even fix his negative thinking, and he might even pick up a better hobby, and he might even become more handsome in that time.”

“That won’t happen. And that’ll just mean I will be a completely different person.”

She definitely expects too much from her friends.

“Anyway, we’ll just have to try.”

Our eyes met…Huh, I had no idea you could smile like that. Now that’s a cute smile if I’ve ever seen one. If we stayed like that, I might have been able to read her thoughts again, but I felt too embarrassed, so I looked away. Because we don’t know how other people really feel, we’re able to become friends with one another. Even if we’re one meter apart, even if we can’t look each other in the eyes, even if random strangers misunderstand us, it’s all just a small setback nothing more.

1 thought on “Butsuriteki ni Koritsu shiteiru Ore no Koukou Seikatsu Volume 1 Epilogue

  1. Logan Machowski 1. May 2024 — 13:59

    such a good story

    Like

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close