Anata wo Akiramekirenai Moto Iinazuke ja Dame desu ka? Volume 3 Chapter 1

If you like our work, please follow us on our social media, join our discord and consider supporting us on Patreon:

https://discord.gg/e4BJxX6 
https://www.patreon.com/CClawTrans

Tuning

—Reina—

Nanato said he has someone he likes. Hearing that, I was shocked beyond belief, but after coming home, I could find some peace to ponder on. After all, if he happened to choose Tsubasa and basically crash down our friend group, that would have been the worst-case scenario. But his declaration won’t change much. I still want to go out with him, but if I can just be by his side, then I’m fine with that. All I want to avoid is to be separated. That would be the end of me.

I managed to make up with Tsubasa, and now we’re basically allies more than rivals. So for the group as a whole, this event may have very well been the most beneficial. This whole thing happened because both Tsubasa and I were too aggressive when it came to Nanato. If we get to have a pleasant summer break thanks to this, then that’s all I need…Wait, no?! I completely forgot about the fact that Shibayu overheard my conversation with Tsubasa! I have to resolve this misunderstanding before things could escalate. I took out my smartphone and called Shibayu.

‘…The number you have dialed currently is depressed.’

“What kind of situation is this?!”

Why am I getting this kind of service message?

‘Don’t worry about Yuzu. Just love each other. But maybe let Yuzu join once in a while,’ she said with a dead voice.

I knew she’d have the wrong idea.

“Shibayu, you have the wrong idea. We’re not dating.”

‘But Tsubasa-chan talked about a confession. She asked you to go out with her, right? Yuzu heard it, so it’s okay.’

“That wasn’t a confession or love, nor did she ask to go out with me as a couple. She just wants to help me in regard to Nanato.”

‘Then she would have said so. Why would she say it in such a roundabout way?’

“Tsubasa is weird. She probably messed up her choice of words, nothing more.”

Even I was bewildered back then. She really made it sound like that was a confession. It made my heart race.

“We were indirectly rejected by Nanato, so we were consoling each other.”

‘In bed?! That’s no fair! Yuzuyu wants to be comforted by Tsubasa-chan, too!’

“…What are you talking about?”

She was utterly bewildered, saying random things I could not grasp.

“Anyway, you have to listen to me. You’ve got the wrong idea.”

‘You are the one who is having a misunderstanding, Reinan. In yuri manga, it always goes from friends to irreplaceable comrades to lovers. Tsubasa-chan needs you, and she wants to know more about you. It’s basically yuri. It is yuri, right? Totally yuri yuri.’

“But that only happens in manga.”

‘But! But! But!’

“I don’t feel the way about Tsubasa like you do, Shibayu.”

‘You just haven’t realized. The waves of yuri have begun hitting the beach.’

“And what’s your proof?”

‘You called her Shiroki all this time, but now you switched to Tsubasa.’

“Ah…”

Tsubasa told me to call her by her name, so I’ve been doing that. But Shibayu saw this as proof that we were now going out or whatever.

‘We’ve gotten closer out of nowhere. Realizing how irreplaceable you are to me, I took your hand—Thus, yuri was born.’

She whispered some sort of poem and then hung up the call. Well, rather than trying to convince her and only doing more damage, it might be better to have her watch the situation unfold. Surely, this misunderstanding will resolve itself eventually.

*

Since it was time for school, I waited for Nanato at the usual park. Every day I do this makes me feel excited, like I’m waiting for my boyfriend for our date. But today, faint glimmers of doubt filled my heart, too. It made me wonder just how long we could stay like this. I think I’m feeling a bit scared to meet him, even. I guess this is what you feel when you’re genuinely in love with the other person.

“Reina-chan! Morning!”

Tsubasa arrived even before Nanato. And unlike yesterday, she even called me “Reina-chan.”

“Morning. You’re not here with Nanato?”

“I wanted to meet you before anything,” she said and sat down next to me.

For some reason, having her with me was rather relieving.

“It’ll be pretty hard to act like everything’s all right after everything that happened.”

“True. I wasn’t really sure how to handle it, myself. Worrying if we can go back to normal.”

I guess Tsubasa’s been worried about the same thing.

“Relax, relax.”

“H-Hey?!”

She didn’t even hesitate to tickle my side, making me shoot up from the bench to escape. I’m really weak when it comes to being tickled, always letting out weird voices.

“What was that for?”

“S-Sorry…I just wanted to brighten up the mood.”

That’s pretty old-fashioned. All it did was scare me.

“At times like these, it’s best to just take a selfie together.”

“I never heard about that before.”

“C’mere.”

I sat back down on the bench and pulled Tsubasa closer by putting my arm over her shoulder. I took out my phone and switched the camera to record us, stretching out my arm to create a cute angle.

“See? Showing off how cute we are. That’s the best way to relax.” I played with my bangs while checking my face.

Tsubasa was clearly not used to this, awkwardly pulling faces.

“Make a weird face. It’ll loosen up your facial muscles.” I showed her a weird face as an example.

“Like this?”

Tsubasa stuck out her tongue, pulling one eyelid down. Way old-fashioned, and holy smokes her tongue is so long.

“That weird face is a bit lame.”

“How could a weird face be lame?!”

Tsubasa grew flustered at my retort. I guess she’s really in need of more time to set in. Though to be honest, I don’t think I want to see a city girl version of Tsubasa. I wouldn’t want her to become some annoying girl chasing after bands and whatever. She’d force me to buy tickets for some random band at a random live house, and with drinks it’ll be like 3k yen.

“Morning.”

There, Nanato arrived at the park. Hearing his voice filled me with energy.

“Morning, Nanato!” I greeted him and stood next to him.

Because Tsubasa came over earlier, I could greet him normally without making things awkward.

“T-Today is…Wait no, tomorrow…We got PE tomorrow, right?”

“Hmmm???”

“They said we’re doing basketball right? Maybe not? I don’t know.”

“Relax, okay?”

He’s a lot more nervous than Tsubasa and I combined?! He even prepared a topic to talk about, but he’s not pulling it off at all!

“I checked out the YouTube channel you told me about yesterday, Nanato-kun.”

“Oh! How was it?”

“Yeah. Their challenge of jumping into the Dobu River was pretty funny.”

Thankfully, Tsubasa jumped in to melt the icy atmosphere. A job well done, but I can’t be standing around like this. I have to do something, but this video idea she talked about completely engrossed me.

“What did you recommend to me again, Reina-chan?”

Tsubasa beautifully threw me the ball. I was very thankful for that, but I also felt pathetic for needing her help.

“I watch makeup channels a lot.”

“I do too, actually.”

“Why are you checking channels targeting gals?” I stabbed my elbow into his side.

Not too long ago, I witnessed him watching a big-breasted woman playing piano, so I’m worried he might have picked up some weird tastes along the way. But thanks to Tsubasa doing the heavy lifting, the tension in the air melted away. And next, it’ll be my turn to carry the mood.

—Tsubasa—

Nanato-kun made a great choice. However, that doesn’t change our relationship in the slightest. Rather, because Reina-chan and I started keeping a healthy distance between us and Nanato-kun, a new group dynamic was born. I get to be on even better terms with Reina-chan, and our relationship as friends is even stronger than before. And this became a chance in itself.

“No problems so far?” Hirose-kun approached me during recess.

I guess he was worried a bit after Nanato-kun made that choice.

“Seems to be fine. But thanks for worrying.”

“I see. That’s a relief.” He showed a relieved expression.

Everyone really cares about Nanato. I can tell.

“With our previous friend group, everything broke apart with just a few cracks, but now that we have you and Chiba, things seemingly won’t go the same way.”

I heard that their previous group consisted of Nanato-kun and his ex-girlfriend Susuki-san, as well as my coworker Ootsuka-san and Hirose-kun. Nowadays, they don’t seem to have much contact anymore, but I won’t let things end this way.

“I’m not letting things break apart like that. Reina-chan and I, as well as everyone else, really care for this, after all.”

“…That’s reliable.”

Everyone is so kind, and I can feel their warm thoughts. Surely, they won’t let things end in the worst way possible.

“I was about to put some hypnosis on him to make him think he’s not in the bad.”

“I think that will have the opposite effect?”

He already has a lot to worry about, so this might only put more unnecessary pressure on him instead.

“Don’t worry, they don’t call me Mentalist Hirose for nothing.”

“No can do. And calling yourself like that only sounds suspicious.”

I won’t let that slide. He has to understand.

“I-I’m sorry…”

“Just act the same way as always. That’s what Nanato-kun is asking for, too.”

“A-As expected of a former fianceé. Your love for him is no joke.”

Seeing him with a terrified expression allowed me to cool down. Once again, I got too heated because it involved Nanato-kun, completely losing myself.

“S-Sorry about that. I just got too fired up.”

“You don’t have to apologize. I’m just gonna be careful not to get churned out by Captain Shiroki again,” Hirose-kun said and walked away.

Why am I some captain now? How embarrassing.

“Hey, listen.”

“What’s up, Reina-chan?”

Hirose-kun pretty much switched places with Reina-chan, as she approached me. Man, I’m so happy.

“We talked about who’d teach Nanato, right?”

That was the whole reason we started fighting, yeah. I was wondering if we should avoid that topic after all the trouble it caused, but she now brought it up herself.

“Why don’t we teach him together?”

“Of course!”

I immediately latched on and happily responded. I was thinking the same thing, but it makes me happy that she brought this up. It means we feel the same way.

“You’re awfully into this idea…”

“I can be with my beloved Nanato-kun but also work together to study and learn with you, so I bet it’d be fun all around.”

“I mean, I’m more than happy if you like the idea…” Reina-chan responded to my smile with one of her own.

“If anything, Nanato might just decline if either of us tried to invite him, so it might be a lot more comfortable with the three of us.”

“Exactly. And with two people teaching him, his grades will definitely go up.”

Nanato-kun was slightly above average during the last midterms, struggling a lot more than he thought. He seemed to have been studying, but I could see him worried.

“This awkward distance between us should probably improve if we both spend time together with him, right?”

“That’s also true. We have to take care of all his worries so that he can look forward to summer break.”

Our goal was the same. We’ve been fighting this whole time, but with a change of perspective, we could be the strongest allies.

“Going this far for his sake…Aren’t we some goody-two-shoes.”

“But we love him, so we can’t change it.”

“…That’s true. This is for his sake, but also our own.”

We both sighed in happiness. Thinking about what’s best for the person you like doesn’t get any exhausting.

“Where should we do it?”

“I don’t mind if it’s your place or mine, really.”

“Then let’s do it at your home. I wouldn’t want my Sis to get in the way.”

“Sure, if you’re okay with that.”

Now, we’re willing to give up on things, too. Because this way, neither of us will trouble him, and we can still be close to him.

“Thanks, Reina-chan.”

“I should be the one thanking you.”

Now we made plans to all study together. I’m so happy…

“So when’s the wedding?”

“Yuzuyu-chan?! Wh-What are you talking about?”

I didn’t even realize that Yuzuyu-chan was watching us from afar.

“You were just hitting it off so well, Yuzu was wondering when the marriage was up next.” She said, sounding awfully bothered.

For some reason, she seems out of energy a lot lately.

“What are you talking about? Nanato and Hirose are always hitting it off, but you’re not suggesting anything between those two.”

“They’re already doing it.”

“Don’t assume stuff like that?!”

Reina-chan grew pale at Yuzuyu-chan’s statement. I wonder what they’re doing? I hope it’s nothing indecent.

“Yuzuyu-chan, you don’t seem too well today. Are you feeling sick?”

I grew worried, so I pressed my forehead on hers.

“Hawa,” she let out a cute voice as her head started to warm up.

“Love you looots!” She said and clung to me.

She’s back to smiling like she usually would.

“I love you too, Yuzuyu-chan,” I returned the embrace, as she for some reason looked at Reina-chan with a proud smirk.

“Sorry, Reinan, Yuzu’s not gonna let you have her after all.”

“Yeah, yeah, of course.”

It almost feels like they were having some sort of competition behind my back. Can’t say I’m not curious as to what’s going on, but since they weren’t particularly fighting, I figured I could let it slide.

After classes ended, I made my way to my part-time job. My shift today was with Ootsuka-san, so I was feeling a bit restless. The last time we met was when she showed me how Nanato-kun met up with his ex-girlfriend, calling him trash and insulting him, so I got furious and talked back to her. So meeting her now would probably be really awkward.

“Ah, hey there, Ootsuka-san.”

“Waaaah.” She returned a weak greeting.

I could see her cheek swollen with the corner of her lips slightly blue-violet.

“What happened to you?!”

“Waaaah! My abusive boyfriend punched me!”

She said the most absurd thing like it was just a joke.

“You should probably cool that. And be a bit more mindful about the people you’re dating.”

“That was just a joke. Oh, right, you still think I’m some bitch being played by random guys, huh? You’re looking down on me.”

“I was just worried is all…”

She’s as twisted as always. I’d honestly rather be feeling awkward than accused like this.

“Actually, my best friend got angry at me and slapped me across the face.”

“I…I see.”

Now she looked actually depressed. I guess it was a bit shocking for her.

“If that’s your best friend, you should make up soon. I also got in a fight with my friend, but we’re a lot closer than before now.”

“Yeah, yeah, and as soon as you see a chance, it’s all about yourself,” Ootsuka-san complained.

I can’t imagine being best friends with someone like her.

“I bet you hate me now. If only everybody would just hate me and cast me aside.”

Surely, she struggles to be honest. She desires to be left alone, but her expression is stating the opposite.

“It’s all over. There’s no redo in life. And mine’s beyond any help now,” she grumbled while tearing up.

I can tell her emotions are all over the place, but she’s pushing everyone away so I can’t help her. I feel like I’ll just get burned if I try my hand at anything, so I’m just going to focus on work and leave her alone.

“Whoop, there it is! Think you’re the representative of all women with that tone or what?”

Even though we were in the middle of work, she just looked at her phone and laughed at whatever social media post she came across. The owner happened to witness that, and dragged her into the back room, probably for a stern lecture. I’ve never seen someone as unstable as her, to be honest.

—Nanato—

The idea of work today had me feeling a lot more nervous than usual. After all, I haven’t seen Susuki since that day. The reason she broke up with me was because she believed in Ootsuka’s statement that I was supposedly two-timing her. Because of this misunderstanding, she started to hate me and blocked off any contact. But after two years, this misunderstanding was resolved, and she voiced her regret for what happened. And learning about the problems in my friend group, she offered to be the convenient woman to resolve it all.

That said, I also can’t bring myself to choose Susuki just to avoid the conflict between Tsubasa and Reina. And in the same breath, I don’t see myself falling in love with Susuki more than I feel for those two. So, I said I found someone I like and planted some distance between myself and Reina and Tsubasa. And this wasn’t a lie, either. Because I just reminded myself of how I’d felt about Susuki way back when. I didn’t want to bluntly lie to them, so this was the decision I made. If I can’t choose, then I don’t have to. Susuki’s words really saved me.

“Morning.”

“Ah, err, morning.”

Since Susuki surprised me as she called out to me from behind, I couldn’t control a weird voice leaving my mouth.

“Pull yourself together, won’t you?” She grumbled and prepared for work.

Surprisingly enough, her attitude was the same as always. Maybe I’m the only one who felt a bit awkward after everything that happened. But just moving on like nothing ever came up was honestly more terrifying than anything else.

“You don’t seem too clear in your mind,” Susuki said as she looked at my face.

Maybe it was too obvious that I wasn’t exactly brimming with energy.

“Just got a lot on my mind.”

“You still haven’t decided? It’s just gonna get worse for you.”

“Well to be fair, I did tell the two of them that I found someone I like.”

I thought that this would help get rid of all my worries, but I just prolonged my answer. Nothing has been resolved.

“…You said that?”

“Yeah. As clear as possible.”

Susuki seemed rather delighted at my response.

“So the reason you still don’t feel too refreshed is probably because you feel guilty. Knowing how kind you are, I’m not surprised by that, and it’d honestly be a bit frustrating if you could just move on this easily.”

“I managed to avoid the group falling apart, but was this really the right choice…”

“Right or not left aside, you definitely didn’t make a mistake. After all, you’re still friends with everyone like before, right?” Susuki gave me the affirmation I needed.

Thanks to that, my worried mind managed to relax a bit.

“Instead, I think it’s better to think about the future…We can’t go back to the past, after all,” she mumbled as she headed outside into the shop.

Her back looked oddly defeated. You can’t go back to the past…Both Susuki and I are painfully aware of that.

Three hours passed after we got into our shift, which was slowly coming to an end. During all that time, Susuki barely said anything. Nothing much has changed since last time. Of course, it’s not like I was desperately hoping for some change to happen, but experiencing this cold treatment even after the whole misunderstanding was resolved sure left a bitter taste in my mouth.

“I gotta say, you really got back on your feet quick.”

“Huh?”

“I mean, you were crying and saying some bold stuff a few days ago, and yet you’re acting the same way as always. I’m feeling more than just restless here.”

The second I finished my words, Susuki glared at me. Whoops, did I say something wrong?

“…Now listen here.”

“Y-Yes?!”

“There’s no way I could just move on after what happened.”

I guess the change is more on the inside for now.

“But even so, I’m not the type of woman to just run around like crazy.”

Yeah…I guess so. Susuki rarely shows her emotions. Even when we were having fun together, she looked disinterested, and she often acted like nothing was wrong even though she was hurting inside. Since I’ve spent a lot of time with Tsubasa and Reina, both open and assertive about their feelings, I’ve grown accustomed to that. But Susuki is different. She doesn’t open up nearly as much. She’s the type to eat food at a fancy restaurant in silence and then let out a brief “That was delicious” on the way home.

“Even I’m feeling nervous right now, and my chest feels hot. I can’t even directly look at you.”

“M-My bad, I didn’t know. I forgot you were that kind of person.”

“That’s right. When you first met me, you called me some automatic cashier with cold-as-ice treatment.”

Susuki was always the type to keep quiet. Even after we’ve gotten closer, that hasn’t changed, and this personality made it so she didn’t have many friends. I still remember vividly doing anything I could in order to make her smile.

“I don’t want to make things awkward even at work, so I’m trying to keep a calm face. So you do your job and do the same.”

“…Will do. Thanks.”

If we don’t focus on our job, we’ll just make more mistakes. And Susuki was doing her hardest to avoid this. Once our shift ended, Susuki and I left the store together. To my surprise, Itsuki was waiting there.

“Cheers.”

“…Hirose.”

Susuki froze up when she saw him. They’d been friends for a while back in middle school, but everything broke apart during the event.

“I thought of showing up at least once.”

I did tell Itsuki that I was working with Susuki, but this is the first time he showed up.

“This sure takes me back.”

Susuki stood between Itsuki and me. We all looked at each other and remembered the times.

“Yeah. Ootsuka’s not around, but this is the first time in like what, two years?”

“Thinking back on it, that was surely a happy time back then.” Susuki reminisced vividly.

I also felt nostalgia warming my chest.

“And you were the one who ruined it all.”

“…I know that.”

Attacked by Itsuki, Susuki lowered her head.

“H-Hey…! Itsuki, that’s going too far…!”

“No, he’s not in the wrong. Hirose approached me back then, trying to resolve this absurd misunderstanding, but I continued to avoid him.”

Susuki didn’t accept my comment and continued to bear the blame. I knew that Itsuki treasured the group of friends we were in, but to think he went out of his way for that…

“I guess that did happen, yeah. Seeing how you got rejected so one-sidedly sure left me shocked, so I did everything I could.”

“…I’m going home,” Susuki said and turned her back to us.

“Running away again?”

“I’ve no more place with you, that’s all,” she said with a defeated voice, sending tremors of pain into my chest.

I guess what’s broken once can’t be repaired, after all.

“You’ve got no remorse huh, Itsuki?”

“I’m not as kind as you, after all. I’ve got a lot more to tell her, and she might just forget about her guilt if nobody tells her regularly.”

Well, if he takes over the heavy responsibility, then I won’t have to say anything to her. I’m not particularly angry about that time anymore, but I have some feelings left that I don’t know where to go.

“So, what did you come here for?”

“Is your owner Tanaka-san present?”

“You’re not actually gunning for her, are you? I don’t think she’s got kids, but she’s married.”

“All good. Just gotta catch her fall after she gets divorced.”

“You’re only aiming for the highest star, huh? Does your dictionary not contain the term ‘giving up’ or something?”

Itsuki’s really got a thing for older women. And to be honest, I can’t blame him for showing interest in Tanaka-san.

“Also, didn’t Tsubasa’s older sister start working at the same sports shop as you?”

“Yeah. Though I’ve yet to meet her.”

“I bet she’s gonna be your type.”

“You’ve never guessed correctly, so I won’t hold my breath,” Itsuki sighed.

Yeah, so far I never really managed to bring any worthwhile suggestions to the table.

“…Seems like our friend group’s gonna make it this time, right?”

“Where did that come from?”

“I’m just saying that Shiroki-san’s a lot more amazing than what you give her credit for.”

Just what happened between them? Is it related to the study group Tsubasa suggested today?

“The true mentalist seems to be Shiroki-san, after all.”

“Seriously, what are you on about?”

Itsuki wouldn’t give me any proper answer, and instead started talking about Mitsui-kun from our middle school’s basketball team suffering a grave injury that will leave him unable to play again, which turned him into a delinquent. Life really comes at you fast, huh?

*

Today was Sunday, so we had no school. However, I spent my time studying for the end-of-term exams coming up in two weeks. This wasn’t the time to be fooling around, I had to hit the books desperately. Luckily, Tsubasa suggested we’d all get together for a study group just the other day. I was struggling with some stuff, so having them around was more than reassuring. However, the problem was the location—Just this morning, I got a message saying that it would happen at Reina’s place. On top of that, both Itsuki and Shibayu weren’t gonna be there, so it was just Tsubasa, Reina, and I. I hope we can at least focus on our work…

Shortly after, I arrived at Reina’s home. I’ve been here several times, but never did I see the inside. That said, I am a bit curious about what the inside of a gal’s room looks like…Wait, no. I came here today to study.

“Ah, you must be Amami-kun?”

My eyes met with Reina’s mother. I guess she was about to head out.

“Hello, I’m Amami.”

“Please take care of Reina, dear.” She said and walked toward the train station.

I did come visit on the day of our middle school graduation, but she wore even flashier clothes now than back then. You wouldn’t know that she had a daughter Reina’s age. I always make fun of Itsuki for going after older women, but now even my own heart was feeling a bit tense. I guess that’s Reina’s mother for you.

“Coming in.”

“Welcome, welcome.”

I texted Reina that I’d arrived and opened the door, and she greeted me right away. She wore a loose shirt with short pants. Can I really focus on studying while she’s looking like that?

“That’s not the gal fashion I expected.”

“What kind of prejudice is this supposed to be about? I’m not some yankee. Why would I wear a sweatshirt during this heat?”

“I-I guess so.”

“…I could change into something different if you so prefer? Anything you’d like to see?”

“No, no, no. We’re supposed to study today, so whatever you feel comfortable in.”

If I was a pervert, I’d ask for a school swimsuit, or full-body tights if I was a psychopath.

“Ah, Nanato-kun. Morning.”

“Morning, Tsubasa.”

She was already waiting in Reina’s room. With tea placed on the table, they were probably already talking before I even got here. They’ve gotten a lot closer in the last few days, and they stopped fighting completely, which made me incredibly happy.

“Let’s do our best today, yeah?”

“Of course.”

Tsubasa showed her clear intention to focus on studying today. She wore a white blouse with half-sleeves and a blue skirt with a ribbon belt.

“You sit over there.” Reina pointed at a spot on the floor cushion.

This being a gal’s room, I thought everything would look a lot more…flashy, but it was pretty much a mixture of black and white. Guess the images I’d seen online were rather old-fashioned. On the shelf with the mirror, I could see several makeup goods. The closet must be filled with a mountain of clothes and bags.

“Could you not look around like you entered a new world?”

“Sorry, I was just curious what your room looked like.”

“So you had interest in my room? Then look around a bit if you’d like.”

Her anger vanished instantly, as she now smiled happily.

“He did the same thing when he came to my room before.”

“Now hold on, can you not phrase it like that?”

She’s definitely referring to the time I accidentally checked through her panties. I really hope she keeps that a secret.

“I’ll get seriously angry if you do that here. Though I’ll forgive you!”

What a contradictory statement. Should a guy who does that really be forgiven?

“I won’t, so don’t worry.”

“If you’re so desperate, at least try to hide it from me.”

So she’s fine with it as long as she doesn’t catch wind of it? I’m not some thief going through her room for goodies, okay.

“Anyway, let’s start with math.”

“Waaaah.”

Just hearing that word sent a shiver down my spine. Back during the mid-terms, I only got 33 points.

“No need to be scared. Both Reina-chan and I are good at it.”

“…Please take it easy on me.”

Then, the two started teaching me all the parts that were likely to appear in the exam. Reina took care of remembering the various formulae, and Tsubasa helped me with calculations. When we were younger, it was always me who taught Tsubasa, and I also did most of the teaching for Reina back in middle school. Yet now, it was the opposite.

“I kinda feel bad pulling you two down like this.”

“That’s not true. If not for you, I wouldn’t even have made it into our school, just staying an idiot forever. I’m just going to repay you for everything,” Reina voiced her feelings of gratitude.

Despite her looks, she’s very upright and honest.

“And to be fair, I wouldn’t mind becoming your private tutor to teach you everything.”

Her comment made me imagine this reality, but all I could think about were lewd events, so I quickly stopped my fantasies. A gal homeroom teacher is a man’s romance, I dare say.

“Ah.”

I happened to drop my eraser, which fell to the ground. Thanks to the transparent case beneath the bed, it thankfully didn’t roll all the way under there. When I went to grab the eraser, I happened to catch a glance inside this case, which was filled with Reina’s underwear. And some of it was really flashy and erotic, so it immediately drew my attention.

“Did you grab the eraser, Nanato?”

“Y-Yeah, I found it.”

Since I just stopped in my tracks, Reina called out to me. It’s not like I was crazy to see underwear or anything like that, but the rarity of it all just kept me captivated. I should really focus…because if nobody is wearing it, it’s just regular pieces of cloth.

“Oh yeah, about this problem,” Reina said and pointed at a place in the workbook as she leaned forward.

Since she wore only a loose shirt, I could see right down her cleavage. Hey now, I can see that crimson-red bra there. I could only see it for a second, but I didn’t miss it.

“Nanato? Where are you looking?” Reina must have caught on to my gaze and quickly covered her chest.

“I was just thinking how beautiful that necklace is.”

“Ah…Thanks. Wait, no! I’m not wearing a necklace!”

I tried to come up with an excuse in the heat of the moment, but failed miserably.

“Sorry, it just caught my eye.”

“As long as you apologize. Can’t help the heat, either. I don’t want to sweat all day.”

If I look down, I’m just gonna be staring at her thick thighs instead. It’s hard to not be conscious of her looking like that.

“Nanato-kun also pushed his head below my skirt when he came over to visit…”

“That was an accident!”

I’m not at fault there. It’s all because she fell over after I scared her.

“So in my case, it wasn’t an accident?” Reina looked at me with a grin.

I mean…It wasn’t, but she was the one who instigated this.

“I am a boy, after all.”

“Ah, you ran away.”

I mean, how can I not? Who could stay calm in a situation like this? Not with two cute girls at both my sides, teaching me with all their heart and soul.

—Reina—

Nanato’s in my room right now. The main goal is to study, of course, but he’s still right here with me. I’ve always dreamed of a day like this to come from the moment I fell in love with him, and the fantasies made my body burn up each time. Granted, Tsubasa is here, too, but that doesn’t change the fact. I’m so happy I want to scream, but they’d just see me as weird.

“And now it’s time for English!” Nanato stood up and stretched his arms as he stated that.

“Good luck, Nanato.”

“Th-Thanks.”

I cheered him up with a smile, but he immediately looked away. I guess he could catch a glimpse at my cleavage because of his position. He did the same thing before, but now he’s trying his hardest to look away. I honestly just wore what was comfortable for me, but I guess it was a bit too seductive for him. I thought of putting on something above my shirt, but…it’s just Nanato. Maybe I should just use this chance to give him some extra service. I’d be a lot more hesitant if it was anybody else, but we’re talking about Nanato, after all.

Then, he started working on his English studies. When someone’s working hard, they look a lot cooler than usual, no? I can’t get enough of his handsome look.

“Ah.”

And yet, he now dropped his eraser again. It kinda felt like it happened on purpose again, but no way anybody would drop their eraser twice.

“You dropped it again?”

“Sorry, I don’t know what’s wrong with me,” Nanato talked like he was repenting for his sins.

He once again looked beneath the bed to check for the eraser. How does it always end up there? That’s the third time. I’m keeping my underwear there, so I really don’t want him to get too close to that.

“There’s also some trash down here.” Nanato grabbed a water bottle, showing it to me.

“Ah, that’s…Um…”

I hurriedly put this one away just that morning, but he found it. That was originally a bottle of juice Nanato drank from and then gave me to finish last year…which I couldn’t bring myself to throw away. I don’t want him to realize the truth. He might think of me as creepy.

“Is that…”

It’s over…He’ll be grossed out. And Tsubasa will make fun of me.

“…for when you can’t make it to the toilet in time?”

“Hell no I don’t, you dummy!”

I’m glad Nanato’s an idiot. And that’s also why I can’t bring myself to leave him alone and think of him as cute. Such an airhead…Isn’t he crazy?

“Then why aren’t you throwing it away?”

I tried to put it away in one of my drawers, but Tsubasa wouldn’t let that slide. Please, just pretend like you didn’t see that…

“Just on a whim.”

“…I see.”

She must have guessed my reason as she started grinning. I bet she’s making fun of me.

“Let’s take a quick break. Can’t keep up this level of focus forever.”

“That’s true.”

With Tsubasa’s suggestion, we entered break time.

“Oh yeah, Tsubasa? You said some time ago you’d like to read a few fashion magazines, right?”

“Yeah.”

“I’ve got a few here, so check them out.”

“That’s awesome. Thanks a lot, Reina-chan.” Tsubasa gratefully accepted the magazines I offered her.

“So you remembered? That’s a saving grace.”

“Not for you, Nanato. Stop latching onto everything that involves gals,” I grumbled and took the magazines from him again.

I can’t let his taste be tainted. And it’s embarrassing. I don’t want him to think I constantly read this.

“C’mon, what’s the big deal,” he started sulking.

Ugh, he really is cute.

“Sorry, little boy. Wanna play with some dolls instead?”

“I’m not some little baby. Where’s the dolls?”

“You seem awfully motivated if you ask me.”

Sadly, I didn’t have any dolls to offer, so he instead started playing one of his smartphone games. Meanwhile, Tsubasa was reading through the magazines. She seemed to be fidgeting, so I checked up on what page she was stuck on.

“Tsubasa…Are you reading the lewd corner or something?”

“Wah…N-Not at all. I was just wondering what this was.” She shook her head, blushing furiously.

How obvious can you be?

“But that page shows techniques on how to make your man happy?”

“Th-That’s…” Tsubasa grew flustered and closed the magazine.

She probably feels embarrassed that she couldn’t fight her desire.

“Well, it’s normal to be interested in that. Just be open about it?”

“Sorry, let me borrow the bathroom really quickly.”

“Ah, she ran away.”

Tsubasa rushed out of the room. If her face turns beet-red just from that, she really is nothing but an innocent child. I’ve already read through this several times. I’m gonna be a mature woman, after all.

“Don’t bully her too much. You should just pretend like you didn’t realize…Oh, so that’s what they usually put in these magazines.”

“Don’t use this chance to read the magazines yourself.”

He really wastes no moment. Also, hold on a second, I just realized…It’s just Nanato and I in my room, right? Holy…This is like we’re on a date. I mean, he’s just playing on his phone so I’m not expecting much…But I have to do something. It would be a waste otherwise. He’s finally over and in my room, so I want to make at least one sweet memory or two. But unlike Tsubasa, I’m nowhere near as air-headed, so I can’t cause some convenient event like that. At this rate, she’ll be back in no time, and nothing will happen. At least for today, I have to become clumsy Rein, that’s right.

“Nanato, I actually bought an exercise ball the other day.”

In order to maintain my figure, I would regularly buy fitness tools to keep my training at a serviceable level. With this ball, I might actually be able to do something.

“Oh yeah, I’ve been curious about that since I got here. That ball in the corner of the room, right?”

“Try it out, it’s pretty difficult.”

I made him sit on the ball, but he’s actually doing pretty well. He’s not athletically blessed or anything like that, and yet he knows how to keep his balance like this? That’s just a scam.

“Rodeo Drive!”

Now he even jumped up and down, moving through the room. It’s like he’s become one with the exercise ball. I don’t think anything’s gonna happen anytime soon.

“If I move my body weight at the right time, I can pull off the weirdest movement while not even falling down. This isn’t nearly as complicated as I thought.”

He seemed to be enjoying himself, and I feel bad for ruining his fun, but I really want something to happen here, no matter how selfish I may be.

“Just sitting on it is the easiest part. The people a step above you can even stand on this while keeping their balance.”

“That’s gotta be impossible!”

“Hollywood actresses do that to keep their figure.”

“For real…? Then I’ll try it, too.”

He blindly trusted my lie and stood on the ball with both his legs.

“Ah, this isn’t all that bad.”

He pulled it off rather easily. Why are you so good at this exact thing?! I’ve never seen him excel at anything so far, but turns out he’s the Balance King.

“Whoops! I slipped!”

I had gotten tired of this facade, so I kicked the ball he stood on.

“Waaah!”

As expected, he lost his balance and fell off the ball, his body falling in my direction on the bed. So you shouldn’t wait for miracles, but create them yourself, huh…

“Ungh…”

Falling onto me, Nanato’s face ended up between my breasts as he groaned.

“Ahn!”

Since he grasped my chest rather aggressively, I couldn’t control myself from moaning. I know he’s not doing this on purpose, but if he’s willing, I want to accept him.

“Ouch…What was that for?”

Nanato placed his hands to the left and right of my head, talking to me as he was right above me. Oh crap…This is making my heart race like crazy. Isn’t this what a couple would do? No…My body is preparing to accept him. My feelings are leaving me unable to move, let alone push him away.

“Good thing I landed on the bed.”

“Ah, just a bit more…”

He was about to get up from the bed, so I grabbed his wrist.

“What’s wrong?”

“Ah, um, well…”

I bet my face was beet red right now, so I covered it with my pillow. Seriously, what is wrong with me? We’re not dating, so nothing’s gonna start.

“What are you doing?”

Together with the door opening, I heard Tsubasa’s bewildered voice.

“I was standing on that exercise ball, but I lost my balance and fell,” Nanato took the bullet and explained everything to Tsubasa.

As for myself, I could not even right now.

“R-Reina, let go of me.”

“Ah, right, my bad.”

I subconsciously locked my legs around his waist, not allowing him to escape. Panicked, I opened my legs wide—Wait, isn’t this even worse?

“Hey, hey, hey, hey!”

Nanato must have been taken aback by this, too, as he mumbled to himself and walked around inside the room.

“Nanato-kun was also clinging to me when we were playing hide-and-seek over at my place.”

Now even Tsubasa had a story to tell of her own. Why would high school students play hide-and-seek? What were they up to? Also, why does she always have to one-up me in everything? We may be allies now, but I still can’t stand that about her.

“I’m gonna borrow the bathroom, too.” Nanato was beet-red as he ran away.

“Good for you, Reina-chan. Seems like a lucky happening blessed you.”

“Y-Yeah…”

I was unable to get up from the bed, giving a weak answer. I did say I wanted some special memory now that Nanato was over in my room, but this was a bit too much…I don’t think I’ll be able to sleep at night. I’ll just be thinking about Nanato.

“Hup.”

Tsubasa sat down on the bed, hugging me.

“What’s wrong?”

“Your body’s really hot. I can tell how much you like him.”

“Of course I do. I can’t live without him anymore.”

We both laid down and looked at each other. I bet Shibayu would get angry at me again if she saw this. Forgive me…Shortly after, Nanato came back with a refreshed expression, so we went back to studying. After that, he managed to get a good load of work in, so I bet he’ll do a lot better during the next exams.

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close