Kibishii Onna Joushi ga Koukousei ni Modottara Ore ni Dere Dere suru Riyuu Volume 1 Chapter 2

If you like our work, please follow us on our social media, join our discord and consider supporting us on Patreon:

https://discord.gg/e4BJxX6 
https://www.patreon.com/CClawTrans

All illustrations in this volume have been edited with the help of Saekano Translations, who will be using my translations for their Spanish version. If you’re interested, check out the link on our About Us page.

Time Leap Diary of Kamijou Touka Who Actually Wants To Be Lovey-Dovey

I, Kamijou Touka, love shōchū1. However, if a 28-year old woman like me were to constantly drink it, people might see me as an old man. That’s why I’m planning on going with a lemon sour cocktail today. With that, I should at least look a bit more feminine. If I went with beer, it’d still give me those old man vibes, but if I went with cassis or Kahlúa liqueur, that’s far too sweet for me. So, I’ll just make do with lemon sour. Sweet potato shōchū would be the best, but what can you do.

If anything, my subordinate is at fault, suddenly inviting a woman out to drink. I have my own conditions to take care of, okay? I didn’t have much time to fix my makeup, but it should be fine, right? There are no rips on my thighs, yeah? I’m curious…I want to go home first and check, and also put on my battle underwear! And now I’m sitting here, gazing down into my lemon sour, worrying about needless stuff like that.

“Thank you very much for today, Chief. Working through the maintenance so skillfully was an admirable sight!”

“Y-You think so? Well, make sure not to daddle with preparations for the next meeting, okay? I bet on your friendly personality to score big in this big job, Shimono-kun, so I expect to see results.”

“Is that so? Thank you very much!”

Damn it…Shimono Nanaya, every single reaction of his is so cute. He can be clumsy a lot at work, but his friendly and open personality give him good evaluations from all our partners and customers. After giving him this big job, I can see that he has the talent for it. And if he fails, I’ll make sure to take responsibility, as I am his superior.

“Say, Chief, didn’t you put too much mustard on your fried tofu?”

“Eh, you think so? Because I’m drinking alcohol, it’s hard for me to pick up the distinct taste.”

“Ahaha. Ah, your glass is empty, Chief. Would you like something more to drink?”

“You don’t have to be so considerate, really. I can order it myself. So upright, as always. Excuse me, one more lemon sour please!” I raised my hand, calling out to the employee.

Despite it being a typical Wednesday night, the place was crowded.

“Chief, are you not drinking any shōchū tonight? With the assistant manager, you would always go say that sweet potato shōchū is the best, no?”

“Drop it! What I want to drink is my own choice!”

I’m drinking lemon sour now, so take the hint, you dummy! Ahh, only when it comes to him, I’m bothered about my appearance to others, but I guess that won’t work. When I put my palm on my forehead, letting out a sigh, I saw Shimono-kun looking at me in a daze, not to mention with his mouth open. What are you, a child!

“W-What? I there something stuck to my face?”

“I was just thinking what a beautiful sight this is.”

“Wha…wha…whaaa?! Where did that come from?! Are you stupid?! Are you plotting to hit on me, get me drunk, and then shoot your shot in a love hotel?! Shoot your magnum rapid fire at me like some hard-boiled guy?! Ah, that’s why you were so adamant about me drinking shōchū. Yes, Section Chief Kamijou has seen through it all, thank you very much! But I’m sorry to say, it’s your loss! After all, I already guessed it! That’s why you were praising me straight to my face! You idiot!”

Of course, my face turned beet red after hearing his words. Then again, the alcohol usually gets straight to my head, so I’m not one to talk. Also, what’s with this guy? He has the cute face of a prairie dog but is actually a wolf. Calling somebody beautiful so nonchalantly…Does he think I’m that easy? Ah, I like him!

“You’re wrong, Chief. I was talking about your nails, not your face! You just got your nails done, right?”

“Nails!!”

So not even my face?! How keen is he to embarrass me…I totally set myself up for failure there. Ahhh, so shameful. But the fact that he looks at even my nails this closely makes me happy at the same time! I like him!

“Of course, your face is just as beautiful.”

“I will kill you.”

I like him so much!

“Eeek, I’m sorry, I didn’t mean to insult you.”

As you may have guessed, I, Kamijou Touka, have feelings for my subordinate, Shimono Nanaya. Of course, absolutely unrequited. However, trying to win over one’s subordinate as the superior requires quite a lot of courage. Nowadays, any kind of confession will immediately be treated as sexual harassment or power harassment, apparently. Yeah, no, I’m just scared of getting rejected, that’s all.

Not to mention that he apparently is still hung up on a certain woman. At the year-end party, he told me about that several times. Seems to be a senior from his high school. Heh, what hurts the most is that I actually am a senior of his as well. When he joined our company, I realized immediately, but I never brought it up, so he probably forgot about it. Even though I was the student council president…Well, we never had any connection despite that, so I don’t blame him…Although it pains me.

I guess this is because I keep being so strict towards him at work. That’s right, I’m mixing public and private affairs. I can’t help it though! I can’t be honest at all! Is this what they call a tsundere? Cute, right? No, I know, it’s not cute at all. But, this is why such a good-for-nothing superior like me is falling more and more for my subordinate Shimono-kun, who invited me out today.

*

Oh no, I’m drunk. I guess three bars back-to-back was too much. But, not yet. I can still do this. I don’t get many chances to be alone with Shimono-kun like this. I’m still far from done~!

Or so I fired myself up, but Shimono-kun really seemed dead-set on heading home for the day. We have work tomorrow? Like I care! Don’t underestimate Section Chief Kamijou Touka! If I sleep for three hours, I can deliver my best performance! As I was trying hard to keep my steps from staggering too much, Shimono-kun did his best to support me and embraced my shoulder. Ahh, so embarrassing~ Still, his arms are actually fairly muscular. I guess it just doesn’t show with the clothes he’s wearing. Maybe I should praise him for that under the pretense of being drunk? Urk, I’m too embarrassed, I can’t say it.

The night had progressed quite far, which made the air feel awfully chilly around us, so his shoulder felt warm and comfortable. The scent of his suit reminded me of the last bar, and it made me feel at peace. Also, Shimono-kun sure is good at looking after people like this. Don’t tell me…

“Hmph, is this how you always deceive and seduce your women, Shimono~?”

I puffed out my cheeks when he brought up the excuse of not being popular and whatever. In reality, he’s popular with Takano-san and Suzuki-san at our office. He’s just too dense, or he doesn’t value himself realistically enough. Not to mention that he now changed the topic, talking about how popular I am and so on.

“Not interested.”

I’m not interested in any other boys. Unless it’s Shimono-kun, I’m—

“Not interested!”

For crying out loud, making a woman say such things, this guy is just…

“What about you?”

“Hm?”

“I’m asking if you’re interested in love and all that.”

I asked him! I actually asked him! Take that! Now, tell me your answer, Shimono-kun! Huh? Dedicated to your work? I don’t need that! Give me a proper answer!

“W-Well, I had a person I admired back in high school, but…”

I was dumbfounded. Again with that?! Ahhh, so frustrating! You didn’t even remember me, yet you keep on talking about that girl! So frustrating…oh so frustrating…! Why was I never able to approach Shimono-kun back in high school. I could only watch him from afar. Why can’t I ever be honest? I hate my personality…Ahh, I’m feeling sick…No more…

“Are you okay, Chief?!”

*

A few minutes later, I managed to recover a bit from my urge to throw up thanks to Shimono-kun taking care of me. I really am glad I didn’t do that right in front of him. Still, where is this place? A shrine? I don’t remember there being one around here. A shrine, huh…Maybe I should go for a prayer. That should be fine.

“Shrine visit time~!”

I danced along the ground, making my way to the front shrine.

“Chief, if you move this much, you’ll start to feel sick again, you know?”

He really is kind. He won’t make it far in this society. Well, that’s what I like about him. Anyway, time for a prayer~ I threw in some change, with two bows and two claps. The starry sky looked beautiful tonight, creating a somewhat romantic atmosphere. I might not look like it, but I can be quite the maiden infatuated with love, you know. Though, I wonder what he’s wishing for? Maybe climbing the corporate ladder? If he were to wish to meet that person he admired once more, I would probably go crazy from the jealousy, so I won’t think about it any more than this.

I have one simple wish. I want to change this twisted personality that won’t allow me to be honest. And, if the gods are gracious today, I would like to return to my high school days. Then, I’ll do something about my personality myself. I’ll approach Shimono-kun myself. In reality, a lovey-dovey and cutesy girl will win over a tsundere after all. Now that I’ve turned 28, I finally realized that. That’s why, please…give me the chance to redo everything.

…Phew, I really am drunk, huh.

*

The next day, it had currently reached 4 pm, and I was preparing to head home. There’s actually a good reason why I am preparing to head home before the end of my shift. Namely, I’m not even at the company, but at school. Classes ended for the day, so naturally I’m heading home.

This morning, when I woke up, I realized I had time leaped eleven years into the past. This realization resulted from the observation of several hints and types of proof around me. It did surprise me at first, but it wasn’t entirely impossible for me to accept it. After all, I actually believe in supernatural phenomena such as ghosts, unidentified lifeforms, fate, and all that. Why? That makes life more romantic, no?

If so, then this time leap sounds plenty possible. I still have faint memories from last night. It was at a shrine, not to mention one I wasn’t familiar with. That point itself is suspicious. And, I wished that I could return to my high school self. That wish most likely had been granted. It must have been that shrine granting my wish. It has to be. Ahh, so romantic. Thank you, god. Love, I love you.

Since I was granted such a romantic present, this time I’m definitely going to do as I declared, and aggressively approach Shimono-kun. With these thoughts, I immediately stuffed my school books and writing utensils into my bag, about to get up. The 16-year old Shimono-kun should be on the floor below this. Before he heads home, I will go meet him and invite him to head home together with me. Without any common point between us, nothing will start after all.

“Hey, Touka! This guy has some business with you!”

Suddenly, a male classmate called out to me. He looks like a party-goer. Who was he? I don’t even remember his name. Back in high school, I was fully focused on my student council work and entrance exams, and I wasn’t exactly interested in any boy other than Shimono-kun.

When I looked towards the source of the voice, I spotted people gathering next to the door. Together with the boy stood a gal-ish girl (I remember her name, I think it was Sanada-san), as well a cute boy whose shoulders were all curled up. Unlike my red necktie, he wore a blue one, signaling that he was a first-year. I feel like I’ve seen him before……Wait, hold on.

I froze up. It was Shimono-kun. No doubting it, it’s Shimono Nanaya-kun from high school. So cute. Super duper cute! Oh crap, did I actually have shotacon tendencies? No, calm down, me. I’m a second-year in high school now, there’s only one year between me and Shimono-kun, just as yesterday. So that the people around me wouldn’t catch on to my excitement, I carefully stood up, trying to keep myself under control. With my bag in hand, I walked towards him.

Everyone is looking at me like crazy. Calm down. Calm down, Touka. This is the best chance you’ll ever get. I was planning on approaching himself, and yet he came here to see me. But, why did he even come here? We never had any common point during our high school career. Actually, there is one time, but that has yet to happen at this point. This event never happened in the history I know. Maybe it’s the influence of my time leap?

Oh no, the tension is really getting to me now. You need to talk to him, Touka! Calmly, and with a relaxed expression. Sound natural!

“U-U-Um! I’m a first-year, my name is Shimono Nanaya! Kamijou-senpai, won’t you become friends with me?!”

Time stopped. Not just my feet, time itself came to a halt. No more free space existed in my brain. I just blanked out, moving like a sleepwalker. However, I barely managed to brush away my confusion and disarray and wake up from my sleep status. That’s enough. I don’t even have the time or leisure to think. What’s most important is to have any connection. That has utmost priority. Until the customer signs the contract, nothing is over. But, right as I was mentally preparing myself, the two people next to Shimono-kun were far too loud loud, I couldn’t focus at all. Don’t get in the way now, alright?

“Hey, be quiet.” I urged them to shut up.

“Yes! I’m sorry!”

For some reason, Shimono-kun was the one to apologize. That’s not what I wanted.

“Not you, the other two. I really wish you could stop acting so excited about something that doesn’t concern you.”

Don’t you dare bully my cute high school Shimono-kun. With a racing heart, I spoke up.

“Shimono Nanaya-kun. As a celebration of becoming friends, how about we head home together?”

Alright, I managed to say it! Well done, Touka! Heck yeah! The classroom got noisy for some reason, but I didn’t even care about that. It’s time! Now my Redo Lovey-dovey Operation is in full throttle!

*

Bang— Bang—

The second day after my time leap back to the past—

Bang— Bang—

On my second day, it all ended—

Bang— Bang—

No, it’s even worse. I shouldn’t have time leaped back to the past in the first place.

Bang—

“Stop! Your head will split apart! You can’t break open a vending machine with your skill alone!”

As I was busy ramming my head into the vending machine, Shimono-kun forcefully pulled me away from it, holding me down. No way. No way no way. Shimono-kun also time leaped into this time?! How could that happen?! If this was a fictional story, I’d immediately give the original creator an earful. How can I redo my mistakes if we both traveled back in time?! There’s no meaning to this anymore!

No, that’s not even the biggest problem. Yesterday, I was acting on the assumption that Shimono-kun did not travel back in time. My own subordinate saw me acting lovey-dovey and flirtatious towards him. Harakiri. Let me cut my stomach open, and die in shame! Ahhhhh, so embarrassing! Are you joking?! You god that I prayed to, get down here immediately! What were you thinking?! Was this just a mistake? A blunder?! If so, then tell your superior! Get them here so they can take responsibility! Who’s the superior of a god anyway? Amaterasu? Zeus? Like I care! Bring them all here! Give me back my god damn youth! Gaaaah!

“Um, was yesterday’s Chief just a character you played?”

We were sitting on a bench near the vending machine, and right as I mentally calmed down, Shimono-kun asked me that question. This man…are you seriously asking me that?! Also, you were the one who sought me out first, no?! That’s right, why did he approach me after his time leap?

“I knew that we came from the same school, but it didn’t seem like you remembered me, so I figured I might as well try my luck this time around and work hard so that you would remember me.” Shimono-kun answered my question with his usual troubled expression.

Really? So he remembered me? Well, I was the student council president after all, so I bet he would. Still, huh. So he wanted me to remember him that badly? Huh~ I can still do this! I still have a chance, right?! One last chance on side of the field! At the very least, it doesn’t seem like Shimono-kun dislikes me. To be honest, I was dreading the day he’d just confess that I was a scary and awful superior of his, but doesn’t this seem like he thinks positively of me?!

If so, then as long as I add a clever reason so that he doesn’t think of me like some creepy stalker woman, I can keep going. I’m pretty good at making up excuses on the spot after all.

“I see…So that’s why you were acting so kind to me.”

“T-That’s right! Yup, that was it! Of course! Do I seem like the type of person who would act this lovey-dovey?”

“No, that doesn’t sound much like you.”

“Righ, right! That’s why, just forget everything up to this point. Okay?”

Great job me, I made it through this predicament.

“Haaaa…the gentle Chief was so cute though…”

Wha, seriously?! So me trying hard actually had its value?! Ahh, I’m so happy! Well, that changes things. Once I get home, I should rethink my plan of operation. That’s right, if I stop trying now, the same future will happen again. Before this senior he keeps talking about appears, I have to make him mine. Kamijou Touka is still not done acting lovey-dovey!

Gruuumble~

But before that, I’ll get back to the udon I left behind. Can’t find on an empty stomach, as they say.


1 Japanese spirit distilled from sweet potatoes, rice, etc.

2 thoughts on “Kibishii Onna Joushi ga Koukousei ni Modottara Ore ni Dere Dere suru Riyuu Volume 1 Chapter 2

  1. Pretty damn sweet, thank you for the treat.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. your comment rhymes~

      Like

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close