Boku no Kanojo Sensei Volume 8 Prologue

If you like our work, please follow us on our social media, join our discord and consider supporting us on Patreon:

https://discord.gg/e4BJxX6 
https://www.patreon.com/CClawTrans

Prologue

There’s no guarantee that it will snow on Christmas. Life isn’t some TV drama or romcom manga, and when you’re living in the Kanto region, you don’t get snow either way. Then again, that’s the trade-off for living in a big city like this, so people rarely complain.

And now, I was walking down the street, with no snow, no white in sight, during this Christmas night–all alone.

“Cold…”

Even though there’s no snow in sight, it’s awfully freezing. It’s like the cold breeze directly found its way inside my warm coat. If I remember correctly, I got this coat back in middle school from Shiya-chan. At first, I didn’t like it because it looked so heavy, but she pressed me to keep it, saying ‘You easily get cold, so you’ll thank me one day’.

While walking, I fixed the body bag I had dangling down my shoulder. It’s already out of fashion now, but since I got it as a present from Miharu, I treasure it nonetheless. It happened a few years ago, but she gave it to me with a ‘Ordered the wrong item’ tone. This is quite clearly a men’s bag, so how could she order the wrong item there, I wonder.

“………”

Out of a whim, I directed my gaze towards a window to my side, looking at my reflection. Besides the coat Shiya-chan gave me, and Miharu’s body bag, I also wore a grey beret hat, deep brown gloves, and a checkered scarf. It looked pretty high quality of coordination if you ask me. But at the same time, it felt like I was wearing a full-equipment of cursed gear…Although it sounds pretty rude to phrase it like that.

Currently, it’s a bit past 9pm in the evening. Even without snow, the town gives off Christmas vibes. Even a red fiat is driving down the street, albeit a bit slower than usual. The red fiat I know would never drive such carefully, so it felt odd to—Wait? A red fiat?

Coincidentally, the traffic light turned right, and the red fiat stopped in front of me. And then, the door to the co-driver’s seat opened.

“Hurry up, Saigi-kun. It won’t stay red for long.”

“…………”

Almost like a deja-vu, Maka-sensei leaned over the seat, beckoning me in.

“Come on, in with you!”

“Y-Yes, I get it already.” In a panic, I jumped onto the co-driver’s seat, and put on the seat belt.

Right there, the traffic light turned green again, and I was pressed against the seat.

“That was close, wasn’t it.” Maka-sensei played with the shift lever, and stepped on the gas.”

Slowly, the fiat started moving.

“…I know it’s a bit late to say that now, but I’m shocked you found out about my location.”

“Today, it’s actually a coincidence.”

“Coincidence?”

“Indeed. Do you believe me?”

“Would you get angry if I said I didn’t even care?”

“Hey now, it’s Christmas, so lighten up a bit.” Maka-sensei complained, as she carefully drove the car.

Well, I guess she can’t just blast through town.

“By the way, you look quite stylish today, Saigi-kun.”

“…You think so? The coat and bag are quite old, you know.”

“As long as it looks good on you, old and new don’t matter. It just felt like this isn’t your typical type of fashion.”

“You could tell, huh?”

“I’ve seen your own clothes a lot of times now. Unlike your usual calm and safe designs, it feels…adventurous.”

“Is that so…”

Well, I agree that it’s different from what I usually wear. Since it looks good on me now, I guess my usual sense is just bad.

“…Achoo! …Excuse me.”

“Sorry, is it cold? This car’s air conditioner doesn’t work too well.”

“N-No, it’s much better than outside.”

“Really…How long have you been walking outside? It’s cold enough for it to snow even.”

“…I’m sorry.”

It’s a fact that the inside of the fiat was heaven compared to the outside. Sorry, Fiat. I called you a nightmare all this time, but you saved me this time.

“I guess a longer drive will be impossible then. Where should we go?”

“…Right, I want to go somewhere.”

“…Are you sick, Saigi-kun?” Maka-sensei gave me a troubled smile, and turned the steering wheel.

She was probably heading off somewhere. Anywhere is fine—or nowhere at all, actually.

“Maka-sensei…I want to go somewhere we can be alone together.”

“Got it.” Maka-sensei nodded without asking anything.

She really is an adult. At the same time, I just wander through Christmas night, unable to grow up.

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close